Issue 107 | September 15, 2003
USPTO Public Advisory Committees
Have New Members
 Commerce Secretary Don Evans has appointed three new members to each of the Patent Public Advisory Committee and the Trademark Public Advisory Committee. The new members of the Patent Public Advisory Committee are:
  • Rick D. Nydegger, a Salt Lake City, Utah attorney, who will serve as Chair of the Patent Advisory Committee.

  • Andrew Dillon of Austin, Texas, a partner of Bracewell and Patterson, L.L.P., whose practice focuses on patent, trademark and general intellectual property matters primarily in the electronics and software industries.

  • Howard J. Klein, a lawyer in Irvine, Calif., who specializes in intellectual property law. Klein is a member of the American Intellectual Property Law Association, the Orange County Bar Association and is a past President of the Orange County Patent Law Association.
The new members of the Trademark Public Advisory Committee are:
  • Jeffrey Samuels of Akron, Ohio, who will also serve as Chair of the Committee, and is the David L. Brennan Professor of Law and Director of the Center for Intellectual Property Law and Technology at the University of Akron School of Law.

  • Maury M. Tepper, III of Raleigh, N.C., a partner in the law firm of Womble, Carlyle, Sandridge and Rice, PLLC, and previously Director and Trademark Counsel at GlaxoSmithKline.

  • Joseph N. Welch, II from Chicago, Ill., a partner in the law firm of Pattishall, McAulifee, Newbury, Hillar and Geraldson.
More information about the new committee members is available in the official press release at http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/com/speeches/03-23.htm.

The Public Advisory Committees were created by the American Inventors Protection Act of 1999 to advise the Director of the USPTO on the management of the patent and the trademark operations. The Advisory Committees consist of citizens of the United States including nine voting members who represent the interests of USPTO users and three non-voting members representing the recognized labor organizations at the USPTO. The Committees are required to prepare an annual report for distribution to the President, Secretary of Commerce and Committees in the Judiciary of the Senate and House of Representatives which typically reviews the policies, goals, performance, budget, and user fees of the patent and trademark operations.

For more information about the work of the Advisory Committees, see http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/com/advisory/index.html or contact a committee member via the e-mail addresses listed at http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/com
. This article was prepared by Bill Heinze (bill.heinze@tkhr.com) at Thomas, Kayden, Horstemeyer & Risley in Atlanta, Georgia USA.

The information contained in this email is provided for informational purposes only and does not represent legal advice. Neither the APLF nor the author intends to create an attorney client relationship by providing this information to you through this message.